Austin is the capital city of the U.S. state of Texas, as well as the seat and largest city of Travis County, with portions extending into Hays and Williamson counties. Incorporated on December 27, 1839,[7] it is the 11th-most-populous city in the United States,[8] the fourth-most-populous city in Texas, and the second-most-populous state capital city.[9] It has been one of the fastest growing large cities in the United States since 2010.[10][11][12] Downtown Austin and Downtown San Antonio are approximately 80 miles (129 km) apart, and both fall along the Interstate 35 corridor.

Apr 28, 2023

Consensus Edition